Burger and Fries #ThrowBackThursday Paleofying Foods from Childhood 

Let’s all take a moment of silence for the ever loving Happy Meal…..Aint no way in HELL I can eat those anymore, but they were sure good back in the day…I think mostly because of the free toy. Do you guys remember that? Ugh I’m getting old. Any who, starting a fun weekly throwback Thursday today on the blog, because why not? Every week, I am going to post a recipe from my childhood that I’ve paleofied. Today is burgers and fries. I got the “fries” at Trader Joes. They are relatively new to the store, and are called Butternut Squash Zig Zags. I really like them, but I can’t eat them every day because I could see myself getting sick of them….like chicken…gag I can’t do chicken right now. Enjoy the recipe below and enjoy your day! I have so much fun stuff headed to the blog, it’s gonna knock your socks off. Check back in later today to see what I mean….OH I almost forgot. I started an instagram. The account is paleo.pals. I am super active on it and post like a maniac, so if you are into that sort of thing, then go follow. Ok I love you!!!

For the fries:
  • Sauté bag of trader joes zig zags in 1 tabs of coconut oil
  • Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste
  • After about 5 minutes, the fries should be soft and ready to enjoy.
For the burger:
  • 1 lb of grass fed ground beef, formed into patties, push thumb print in middle to keep in the juices
  • set out, sprinkle each patty with salt and let rest for 10 minutes
For the toppings:
  • 1 onion–raw and/or grilled
    • I grilled some onions in a pan with coconut oil until they looked right…not helpful i know..well they were soft and crispy at the same time.
    • the other half of the onion i diced and served
  • Mushrooms-sauteed in olive oil
  • get creative and add in some fun toppings.
    • in the picture you will see i had avocado, bacon, sliced tomato and sliced peppers.
  • smear with some paleo mayo (i used primal kitchen, thanks Mark Sission), jalepeno mustard, and paleo ketchup and you’re good to go!!!
Last but not least, wrap it all up in romaine, butter leaf or iceberg lettuce….DONT FORGET NAPKINS! This one is messy.
Leave a Reply

