Collagen…Nature’s botox. Say, what?!

qFst-zqKRiRRXIvOQPfH94mPwftPlAP_pgr1yQwegHleOuHLFxxZlV7RpXQ96M5WRty7lQGXEDPXxsrBBAKgMONqM65C75mWBk4frLYc9UUPSYdmiJLussuV7IBQuiMWxoSpCcZ9.jpg

Ah collagen. Nature’s botox. Ever since I discovered the importance of it, I’ve been hooked and cant get enough. Gelatin is a natural source of collagen, which is not only great for making us look ageless, it is also great for the gut, muscle recovery, sleep and stress reduction and source of quickly absorbed protein. Chris Kresser has a great article on the benefits of gelatin; he’s my go to Paleo Doctor!

Although gelatin may be difficult to fit into your diet on a regular basis, Great Lakes Unflavored Beef Gelatin, makes it easy and fun! Did you know you can use it to make gummies and Jello-O? And as a former sugar, gummy, sweet treats addict, this really hit the spot! I made these Gut Healing Gummies but used strawberries. Feel free to get creative!

Bone broth is also quite the phenomenon right now, being called “liquid gold,” and it surely packs a punch full of collagen. I love using it to make soup during the colder months. I will buy an organic, free range rotisserie chicken from Whole Foods and then use the bones to make broth in my crockpot. Or if I’m feeling lazy, I will pick up some locally made broth at the farmer’s market or order on ThriveMarket. However, during the warmer months, bone broth and soup are just not going to happen, you know what I’m sayin??

So, I have a morning cocktail that consists of 8oz of water, a splash of Whole Foods’ 365 Organic 100% Lemon Juice and a tablespoon of Great Lakes Unflavored Beef Gelatin that I immediately whisk up quickly with a fork to prevent the gelatin from turning…well…gelatinous. I then take my Fermented Cod LIver Oil and chase it with my gelatin cocktail. My stomach truly thanks me for starting my day with this concoction as opposed to something harsh like coffee…don’t worry, coffee comes shortly after. The gelatin actually also fills me up with some good quality protein, too so I am not ravenous in the morning. It prevents me from eating two Perfect Bars in less than a minute as opposed to one.

Lastly, if you want an even faster fix of collagen, check out Primal Kitchen’s Dark Chocolate Almond Bar. They’re also a great source of protein, fat and fiber…oh and don’t forget they’re chocolate…and only 3 grams of sugar.

Okay everyone. Go get your collagen on!

Leave a Reply

