Memorial Day Weekend

Paleo Pals are bringing you some delicious Memorial Day Weekend treats for you. What are some of your plans? I will be picking up my new puppy, Rocky from the breeder tomorrow. I can’t wait. It’s all I have been thinking about today. For the rest of the weekend I plan on getting in some good workouts in the sun and also a lot of rest….but now that I think about it that probably won’t happen with a fur baby around…..eek. The more practice I get at this photo taking thing, the more I like it and get ideas for better shots. I am so happy with how the pictures below turned out. I am bringing you four recipes, three of which incorporate berries and coconut. The last is RIBS!!! I don’t have a paleo sauce for you from my own noggin but I have included one you can try. When it comes to sauce….I usually don’t give a hoot on whether or not it’s paleo. I am a sauce boss. I have an Alabama caveman who swears by Dreamland’s sauce which is definitely amazing. In the picture, we tried dry, wet and sort of a mixture. Ribs three ways….cant complain. YUM pair with a simple salad and apple cider vinegarette and you’re good to go. I am a simple cook so the less steps the better. We just grilled the ribs and went to town. They were awesome….Wow I just realized how much of a tangent I just went on about ribs… See the super simple berry recipes below and ENJOY!!!! Shoutout to all the military folk out there. Thank you for your service, we honor and love you.

Berries and Coconut Cream

Berries and Coconut Cream:
  • Can of coconut cream from trader joes
  • 1 cup of blueberries
  • 1 cup of strawberries.
Directions:
Chop berries
layer…..need I say more?
 Patriotic Paleo Popsicle!! MYSTERY ITEM~~
This was the dessert we didn’t show on ig….enjoy
Patriotic Paleo Popsicles
Ingredients:
  • 2 c strawberries
  • 1.5 c blueberries
  • 1 c coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp honey (optional)
  • 1 c water
Directions-
  1. blend strawberries, 1/2 c water in vitamix
  2. pour mixture in each popsicle mold about 1/3 of the way
  3. let freeze for 30 minutes
  4. Pour coconut milk *option to add honey into the popsicle mold
  5. let freeze for 30 minutes
  6. blend blueberries, 1/2 c water in vitamix
  7. pour mixture on top of coconut milk
  8. stick popsicle sticks/lids into molds and freeze for a few hours
  9. serve and enjoy!
Patriotic Fruit Skewers
Patriotic Fruit Skewers
Ingredients:
  • 1 banana
  • 3-4 strawberries
  • about 10 blueberries
  • 1 tbs unsweetened shredded coconut.
2 skewers~~
Directions:
  1. Assemble in red, white and blue pattern. ENJOY
 Ribs Three Ways
I should have my caveman do a guest post because he deserves all the credit for this meat. He’s the true grill master. I just make the salad. I chopped romaine lettuce, purple cabbage, and some avocado. Mixed up some apple cider vinegar, a tad of olive oil and lemon juice and added it to the salad.
We get our ribs at Costco….always. Slather them up with your favorite sauce and grill away until they reach at least 145 degrees Fahrenheit.
Here is a paleo cherry bbq sauce recipe from Forest and Fauna.
Happy Memorial Day Weekend y’all. Don’t forget about what Memorial Day truly means. Also, be safe. XOOXOOXOOXOUXO
Leave a Reply

