Throw Back Thursday: Pb & J–Paleo Style

Hi guys. Wow puppy training is hard work. Why didn’t any of you tell me???? How rude. JK I am so in love with this little guy. How did I ever live without him?

Ok so I had a lot of fun making this recipe. PB & J was a staple for me growing up, and I am so happy to have a healthier version of this in my life today. Look at how cute these little squares turned out. I just love them. I made the flatbread using ground chia and flaxseed…so beware. Limit your intake or else you’re going to have a fun time with the toilet.  Also….who knew jam was so easy to make? Just throw some lemon juice, honey and chopped strawberries in a pot and cook on low medium heat…then mash. OMG I am going to make this all the time.

Paleofied PB and J
For Chia and Flaxseed Flatbread
Ingredients-
  • 2 tbs ground chia seeds
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/8 c hot water
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 c ground flaxseed
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix chia, flax, 1/2 c water and mix.
  3. In a separate bowl mix honey and hot water and stir until dissolved
  4. add chia/flax mixture as well as eggs to the honey water
  5. sprinkle in baking soda and mix in
  6. let stand a few minutes in the bowl
  7. spread mixture on a greased cookie sheet (I used coconut oil as my grease)
  8. Bake for about 25 minutes or until batter is cooked all the way through and edges are browned.
  9. Cut into squares and use a spatula to scoop off baking sheet.
For the Strawberry Jam–
Ingredients-
  • 1/2 tbs raw honey
  • 1 cup chopped strawberries
  • 1 tsp. lemon or lime juice
Directions-
  1. add all ingredients to a pot, stir and cook on medium/low heat until soft and then whisk together
  2. Let cool
For the Pb and J sandy-
Spread almond butter and jam on top of flatbread
serve open-faced and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

