New Year, New You.

This year is all about changes for me. Growing into my late 20’s, adulting hardcore, and learning how to make it out ok through all life’s challenges.

First, before I go all deep talk on you, here’s a life hack I learned from my mom back in the day when she was selling our house. Line a baking sheet with foil and sprinkle cinnamon all over it. Bake the cinnamon for about 5-10 minutes at 250-300 degrees. Don’t burn the cinnamon or you’re done for. This is a great way to get that bacon stench out of your house and make people think you have been Betty Crockering out all day baking cookies. Another way to get your house smelling oh-so-yummy is to fill a sauce pan 3/4 of the way with water and bring it to a boil, add 1 tsp of vanilla and 2 cinnamon sticks, and let the mixture boil for 1 min. Then lower heat to a simmer. Voila all that stinky egg, bacon grease and whatever other weird paleo smells you’ve created will go bye bye. You’re welcome.

Now back to serious talk. I have challenged myself to meditate, journal, as well as other things for 30 days. I’m on day 3 and it’s not as hard as I thought and the results are great. I deal with anxiety and stress a lot better. Here’s what I challenge you. Go to Staples or any office supply store, get a journal and pen that you really like, and write whatever comes to mind for 10 minutes a day for the next 14 days. Do it around the same time, in the same place every day, and take note of the changes you see in your life. Next, download the app Headspace. This app teaches you how to breathe and meditate and it only takes 10 minutes a day. Audrey and I were laughing because I told her I got brain chills the first time I did it. Seriously, it feels like a brain massage. My fiancé got me into the whole meditating thing. I was very skeptical at first. Then he said this to me, “Our brains are like computers. Sometimes we have way too many programs going on at once and then it can’t process information as quickly or efficiently. We then need to restart the computer, and it is only then when our computers can function properly again.” Our brains get overloaded by advertisements, flooded with information and process more data than ever before. It is critical that we do a restart on our brains every day to maintain its proper function. Finally, if nothing else…I challenge you to a 2 minute cold shower every day for the next 14 days. Just 2 minutes of being uncomfortable per day can really help with getting some clarity.

So there you go. Some challenges for you in the new year!! While I was journaling today I wrote down a couple thoughts to guide me on my journey for the next 27 days, and maybe they will help you too.

1—“I am doing things because I think I should, not because someone else thinks I should.” So many times I get challenged to do something and I do it for someone else. This time around I am doing these challenges for me, and I hope you do as well.

2—“Sometimes you have to do things you don’t want to do to be successful.” Yeah, I don’t want to put down the pizza either, but that is exactly what I have to do in order to not be bloated and feel like crap.

I love you all! We are in this together. Feel free to comment or message any thoughts or comments.

-Chelsea

 

Leave a Reply

